Newsletter Sign up
Sign up for news, events
and promotions at
the Cathedral:
Send page to a friend:

More information on each area

1. The Baptistry
The Baptistry contains a painting, The Baptism of Christ by Hans Feibusch (1951). The Font, is made of Cornish polyphant stone with a copper bowl, was designed by John Skelton(1983). It is part of the memorial to George Bell (Bishop 1929-1958).

2. The Chapel of St George
The memorial chapel of the Royal Sussex Regiment. Contains boards listing those of the regiment lost in the First World War and a book of rememberance for those lost in the Second World War.  Here too is a memorial to those who served, and those who gave their lives, from the Royal Air Force stations in Sussex.  The memorial was designed by the then surveyor of the fabric, Donald Buttress, and unveiled in 2006.

3. Chapel of St Clement

The altar frontal in this chapel, The Icon of the Divine Light, is by Cecil Collins (1973). To the left of the entrance is a memorial to Agnes Cromwell by Flaxman.

4. The Arundel Bell Screen

An early 15th century screen which was removed in 1859 and restored to its original place in 1961 as a memorial to Bishop Bell.

5. The South Transept

Contains an early 14th century window with glass from Lorraine (1877). There are paintings by Lambert Barnard which are early 16th century.

6. Two Important Romanesque Sculptures

(12th century) depicting the raising of Lazarus and Christ arriving at Bethany. Originally they were coloured and there were jewels or semi-precious stones in the eyes.

7. Piper Tapestry

Designed by John Piper and woven in France (1966). The central subject is the Trinity, with symbols of the elements and the Evangelists in flanking panels.

8. Graham Sutherland Painting Noli me tangere

(Do not hold me) depicting Christ appearing to Mary Magdalene on the first Easter morning.

9. Site of the Shrine of St Richard of Chichester

(Bishop 1245-53, canonised 1262). The shrine was popular with pilgrims until its destruction in 1538 by Henry VIII. In recent years the shrine has become a centre of pilgrimage.
The Anglo-German Tapestry
By Ursula Benker-Schirmer, 1985 the tapestry contains symbols, biblical in origin, relating to the life of St Richard. Bishop Bell's ashes are interred here.

10. Lady Chapel

Also known as The Chapel of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  This Chapel is newly restored and was opened in spring 2008.  The gates to the Chapel are the only remaining part of the original medieval Shrine of St Richard, the restoration process uncovered their original silver grey colour.  The stone tablet at the back of the Chapel on the north side commemorates Bishop Ralph de Luffa who completed the building of the Cathedral in 1108.  It was placed here to mark the 900th anniversary of the Cathedral on 3 October 2008.

11. Christ in Judgement - a sculpture

(1988) by Philip Jackson, mounted high over the entrance to the Lady Chapel.

12. Chapel of St John the Baptist

The Reredos (1984) is by Patrick Procktor and shows scenes from life of St John

13. Marc Chagall Window

Based on Psalm 150: 'O praise God in his holiness... let everything that hath breath praise the Lord'.

14. The Treasury

Housing an exhibition of treasures from parishes in the Diocese as well as from the Cathedral.

15. North Transept

Contains 16th century paintings by Lambert Barnard showing representations of the Bishops of Chichester. (All have the same face!)

16. Gustav Holst Memorial

(d.1934), set in the floor.

17. Tomb of Joan de Vere

One of the first examples in England of a monument with 'weepers' at the side of the tomb chest.

18. Arundel Tomb

Richard Fitzalan (d.1376), Earl of Arundel and his Countess, the inspiration for a poem by Philip Larkin.

19. Chapel of St Michael

(the Sailors' Chapel), dedicated in 1956 as a memorial to the inhabitants of Sussex who lost their lives at sea in World War II.

©2018 Chichester Cathedral | Home | Legal statements | Site Map | Contact us | Cookies | Holograph Ltd
The Royal Chantry, Cathedral Cloisters, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 1PX - ECRR Number X6489