Antonio Oyarzabal

A lunchtime concert by pianist Antonio Oyarzabal Tuesday 1st February 2022 at 1.10pm

'La Muse Oubliée' - a programme of all female composers

Prelude - Mana Zucca (1885-1981)

Scottish Legend - Amy Beach (1867-1944)

Women of Legend - Mel Bonis (1858-1937)

  • Phoebe
  • Desdemona
  • Viviane
  • Melisande

Selection from Pieces for Harpsichord  - Élisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre (1665-1729)

  • Gavotte
  • Rigaudon I - Rigaudon II
  • Menuet
  • Rondeau

3 pieces for piano - Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)

  • D’un vieux jardin
  • D’un jardin clair
  • Cortège

Prelude in E - Lucija Garuta (1902-1977)

April Preludes op. 13 - Vitezslava Kaprálová (1915-1940)

I. Allegro ma non troppo 
II. Andante
III. Andante semplice
IV. Vivo

Of his programme Antonio writes: "I am very much looking forward to bringing my project “La Muse Oubliée” to Chichester. This album, recorded with Ibs Classical, is a compilation of carefully chosen little gems for piano by female composers, from Baroque composer Élisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre to XXth century composers Ruth Crawford Seeger and Vitezslava Kaprálová.

I am really grateful for all the press and wonderful reviews the CD is getting: it appeared on The Observer with a great review by renowned writer Fiona Maddocks, BBC Music Magazine rated it 5 stars, it won a Gold Melomano Award in Spain, it received glowing reviews from Rob Cowan (Gramophone)PIANIST Magazine published in 7 countries (Europe), Scherzo magazine in Spain, PianoNews in Germany; in Fanfare magazine (USA) it has been featured in WANTLIST, selected as 1 of 6 albums from 2021 that you absolutely must listen to. The CD is also being featured often on Classic FM, BBC Radio 3, many radios in Spain and National Radio of Israel.

Because of my work in this field, I was made an ambassador for Donne a charitable foundation that is here to make a positive change in the fight against gender inequality within the music industry. The main goal is to celebrate, advance, and amplify women in music so that they are seen, heard, and appreciated for their talent so they can leave a legacy of inspiration for future generations. This was fantastic news to receive!"


Oyarzabal is a versatile concert pianist and sought-after musician living in London. He obtained his Masters and Artist Diploma as a soloist at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, studying with Caroline Palmer. Antonio combines solo and chamber music performance. He made his debut in LSO St Luke’s (2018) with LSO violist Lander Etxebarria and in Barbican Hall (2017) with the Klimt Quintet. He has also performed with LSO solo clarinetist Andrew Marriner, violist Matthew Jones and alongside the Allegri Quartet and Southbank Sinfonia.

As a soloist with orchestra, recent performances include Mozart Piano Concerto nº23 and nº 9, Shostakovich Piano Concerto in F, Poulenc Concerto for two pianos and orchestra, Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue with the EUYO in Grafenegg (Austria) and Ravel Piano Concerto in G with YMSO at St John Smith Square (London). He has recently debuted with Bilbao Symphony Orchestra and conductor Juanjo Mena, performing Mozart Concerto in D minor K. 466 at the prestigious Philharmonic Society of Bilbao.

Antonio received the Audience Special Prize and Finalist Prize in Campillos International Competition 2015, and the 2nd prize at the “Concours International d’Ile de France” in Paris, 2008.

As a solo pianist, Antonio actively performs around the UK, Spain and abroad. He presented his CD The Inner Child in Fundación March (Madrid), in St Martin in the Fields (London) and in many cities around the UK. This debut CD was recorded with Orpheus Classical international record label and was awarded with Golden Melomano prize in prestigious Melomano magazine. In 2019 he recorded another CD with the works by Basque composer J. Martínez Villar with Arsis record label, which has also received the Golden Melomano award. Recently, Antonio recorded his third CD with IBS Classical record label; La Muse Oubliée, a collection of piano works by women composers that has received highly positive reviews from The Observer, BBC Magazine, Gramophone, Scherzo, etc. The CD has been featured in radios such as Classic FM, BBC Radio 3, National Radio of Israel, Radio Nacional (Spain), etc. BBC Magazine has rated this album with 5 stars.

Chichester Cathedral's Lunchtime Concert series is self-supporting, and thrives through the generosity of its audiences. While there is no charge for admission, we suggest a minimum donation of £3 per person, with Gift Aid applied if possible. 

In line with our hopes to keep everyone safe and well, we will have reduced seating until further notice. As such, we ask that audiences book their places in advance through Ticketsource. We will have a list of names that have booked on the door: you do not need to bring the tickets with you.