Sermons

Preist

Sermons are preached every Sunday at our Mattins and Sung Eucharist services, as well as at other special services throughout the year. Audio recordings and/or transcripts of sermons can be found following the links below.

Eucharist
Sunday 10th November 2019

The Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Chaplain

Sunday 3rd November 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 27th October 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 20th October 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Dr Dan Inman, Chancellor

Sunday 13th October 2019

Sermon by Domkapitular Professor Dr Wolfgang Klausnitzer, Canon of Honour

Sunday 6th October 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Derek Tansill

Sunday 29th September 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 22nd September 2019

Sermon by the Revd Rob Dillingham, Diocesan Deputy Director for Apostolic Life

Sunday 15th September 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 8th September 2019

Sermon by the Very Revd Stephen Waine, Dean

Sunday 1st September 2019

Sermon by the Rt Revd Dr Alan Chesters

Sunday 25th August 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Dr Alison Green, University Chaplain

Sunday 18th August 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Bruce Ruddock, Cathedral Chaplain

Sunday 11th August 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 4th August 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Richard More

Sunday 28th July 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Timothy Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 21st July 2019

Sermon by the Very Reverend Stephen Waine, Dean of Chichester

Sunday 14th July 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Derek Tansill

Sunday 7th July 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 30th June 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 23rd June 2019

Sermon by the Very Reverend Stephen Waine, Dean of Chichester

Sunday 16th June 2019

Sermon by the Very Reverend Nicholas Papadopulos, Dean of Salisbury, on Trinity Sunday

Sunday 9th June 2019

Sermon by the Right Revd Dr Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester, on Pentecost Sunday

Sunday 2nd June 2019

Sermon by the Very Revd Stephen Waine, Dean

Sunday 26th May 2019

Sermon by the Rt Revd Dr Alan Chesters

Sunday 19th May 2019

Sermon by the Archdeacon of Chichester, the Venerable Luke Irvine-Capel, SSC.

Sunday 12th May 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 5th May 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Chaplain

Sunday 28th April 2019

Sermon by the Revd Dr Alison Green, University Chaplain

Sunday 21st April 2019 - Easter Sunday

Sermon by the Rt Revd Dr Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester

Saturday 20th April 2019 - First Eucharist of Easter

Sermon by the Revd Dr Dan Inman, Diocesan Director of Ordinands

Thursday 18th April 2019 - Maundy Thursday - Sung Eucharist of the Last Supper

Sermon by the Revd Dr Dan Inman, Diocesan Director of Ordinands

Sunday 7th April 2019 - Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Canon Richard More

Sunday 31st Saturday 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Canon Derek Tansill

Sunday 24th March 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 17th March 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Dr Alison Green, University Chaplain

Sunday 10th March - Eucharist

Sermon by the Right Reverend Dr Alan Chesters

Sunday 3rd March 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Very Revd Stephen Waine, Dean

Sunday 24th February 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 17th February 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Cathedral Chaplain

Sunday 10th February 2019 - Sung Eucharist

Sermon by the Revd Canon Dr Anthony Cane, Chancellor

Sunday 3rd February 2019 - Eucharist

Sermon by the Very Revd Stephen Waine, Dean of Chichester

Sunday 27th January 2019 - Eucharist
Sunday 20th January 2019 - Eucharist
Sunday 13th January 2019 - Eucharist
Sunday 6th January 2019 - Eucharist
Sunday 30th December 2018 - Eucharist
Christmas Day 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 23rd December 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 16th December 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 9th December - Eucharist
Sunday 2nd December 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 25th November 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 18th November - Eucharist
Sunday 11th November 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 4th November 2018 All Saints - Eucharist
Sunday 28th October 2018 - Eucharist at Bamberg Cathedral
Sunday 28th October 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 21st October - Eucharist
Sunday 7th October - Chichester Cathedral Feast of Dedication
Sunday 30th September 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 23rd September 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 16th September 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 9th September 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 2nd September 2018 - Eucharist
Wednesday 15th August - Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Eucharist
Sunday 12th August 2018 - Eucharist
Sunday 29th July 2018 - Eucharist
Mattins
Sunday 20th October 2019

Sermon by the Right Reverend Dr Alan Chesters

Sunday 13th October 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Dr Daniel Inman, Chancellor

Sunday 6th October 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 29th September 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Chaplain

Sunday 22nd September 2019

Sermon by the Reverend IshSmale, Cathedral Deacon

Sunday 15th September 2019

Sermon by the Revd Dr Irene Smale, Diocesan Children's and Families Work Adviser and Prebendal School Chaplain 

Sunday 8th September 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Derek Tansill

Sunday 1st September

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 25th August 2019

Sermon by the Very Reverend Stephen Waine, Dean

Sunday 11th August 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Canon Bruce Ruddock, Cathedral Chaplain

Sunday 28th July 2019

Sermon by the Very Reverend Stephen Waine, Dean

Sunday 21st July 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 14th July 2019

Sermon by the Revd Dr Irene Smale, Diocesan Children's and Families Work Adviser and Prebendal School Chaplain 

Sunday 7th July 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 30th June 2019

Sermon by the Reverend Ish Smale, Cathedral Deacon

Sunday 23rd June 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Cathedral Chaplain

Sunday 16th June 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 2nd June 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 26th May 2019

Sermon by the Revd Dr Alison Green, University Chaplain

Sunday 19th May 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Derek Tansill

Sunday 12th May 2019

Sermon by Linda Barratt, Cathedral Lay Reader

Sunday 28th April 2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Chaplain

Sunday 21st April 2019 - Easter Day

Sermon by the Very Reverend Stephen Waine, Dean of Chichester

Sunday 14th April 2019

Sermon by the Revd Dr Alison Green, University Chaplain

Sunday 7th April 2019 - Mattins

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Chaplain

Mattins 31.03.2019

Sermon by the Revd Canon Stephen Ferns, Treasurer

Sunday 17th March 2019

The Revd Ish Smale, Cathedral Deacon

Sunday 10th March 2019

The Revd Dr Irene Smale, Cathedral Deacon

Sunday 24th February 2019

Sermon by Linda Barratt, Cathedral Reader

Sunday 17th February 2019

Sermon by the Rt Revd Dr Alan Chesters

Sunday 10th February 2019 - Mattins

Sermon by the Revd Canon Dr Anthony Cane, Chancellor

Sunday 3rd February 2019 - Mattins

Sermon by the Revd Canon Bruce Ruddock, Chaplain. (Candlemas)

Sunday 16th December 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 18th November 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 21st October 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 14th October 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 30th September 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 9th September 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 2nd September 2018 - Mattins
Sunday 19th August - Mattins
Sunday 5th August 2018 - Mattins
Special Services
Saturday 21st July 2019 - Southern Cathedrals Festival Eucharist

Sermon by the Reverend Ronald Corp, OBE

Sunday 30th June 2019 - Ordination of Deacons

Sermon by the Right Reverend Dr Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester

Friday 19th April 2019 - Good Friday - Liturgy of the Passion Service

Sermon by the Revd Dr Dan Inman, Diocesan Director of Ordinands

Saturday 23rd March 2019 - Diocesan Mothers' Union Festival Service and Commissioning of Officers

Sermon by the Right Reverend Dr Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester

Sunday 10th March 2019 - Bach Cantata Evensong, First Sunday of Lent

Sermon by the Revd Canon Tim Schofield, Precentor

Sunday 11th November 2018 - Service of Remembrance and Reconciliation

Sermon by the Right Reverend Dr Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester